What does God want from me?


7186240797_c29f9fde82_qI was listening to a podcast in the on Monday car and I felt sad. I love this particular podcast, I recommend it. It’s the Robcast. Rob Bell is a very creative energetic speaker, writer and has a talent for putting the Bible in its proper context with fascinating social insights and historical information. He interviews lots of other inspirational creative Christians and people of other faiths and none. But in this podcast there was a real focus on the ways that God moves you forward and a sense that we should all have this great calling that will somehow emerge. There seemed to be a focus on the idea that  something large, inspiring, profile giving/raising and astounding would come out of it. Well I’m 44 and I haven’t heard anything like that from God. Plenty of other things but very very rarely any direction on what I should be doing with me life.

So what does that mean, have I failed to hear God? Or does God not want a contribution from me? I’m just free to bumble on with my incredibly privileged life and die in pleasant obscurity.

Current culture is difficult to negotiate. Particularly I think, if you are younger than me. After all, if you aren’t Alexlookingforheroes (someone I used to work with!) or PewDiePie by now what the hell have you been doing with your time? There is a strong feeling that if you haven’t ‘succeeded’ then you’ve failed. I think many of us wish God wanted us for a Christian version of that. And there’s nothing wrong with that.

But God’s never been much for current culture. God is for counter culture. The first shall be last and the last shall be first. Son of a carpenter, killed by the religious and political establishment (Or culture). Etc.

So if you aren’t getting a call to something ground breaking, amazing, scary, spotlight-ish, what does that mean?

Well, there is a call. There is a clear statement in the Bible about what God wants and I’m going to write a post on each one. Here’s what God wants from you and me.

‘Do justly, love mercy and walk humbly with your God.’ Micah 6:8

That’s all. Basic, right? Well, maybe not.

 

Leave a Reply

