Lenten foolishness


Lenten disciplines aren’t that playful are they? Giving stuff up, meditation, giving, praying. None of these seem playful and generally they aren’t. What they do is to help us to see which playful circumstances are not healthy, not moving us into a closer relationship with God.

I must admit to not feeling that I am moving forward in my relationship with God as a direct result of my chosen disciplines this Lent, but what I do know is that it has revealed to me how even the very smallest things that we see as harmless (and I would emphasise generally are) can form a way of self-medicating. In other words, playfulness becomes a barrier to spending more time with God because we are busy finding other things to make us feel better about ourselves and about our life.

But on the other hand, some things that are given up or taken up during Lent would simply not be understood as worth giving up/taking up. Not seen as worthy sacrificing, not seen as potentially getting in the way of our relationship with God. I would remind you, if you find that kind of criticsm being levelled at you for your choices that we are warned that our faith will seem like foolishness to the world. And foolishness is of course playful…

I will tell you more about it at the end of Lent. Hope that your Lenten journey is

Leave a Reply

