No more me, me, me


Well it’s been a good week as far as I am concerned. A week to restore your faith in human nature.

1.Barack Obama was re-elected. Anyone who can face down Congress and the wrath of a sizeable number of the American people to get a health care programme implemented is to be admired. His policies seem more about a nation thinking of others than a nation thinking of itself and that’s after all what we have been asked as Christians to do, love others as we love ourselves.

2. I give training workshops on presentation skills at a university in London. It’s about helping arts students to express themselves, a critical skill for any artist who is studying, since a large part of their work is focused on justifying or explaining their method and rationale. This is beside the point. I left my laptop in the lecture theatre at the end of my first session and spent all day in another studio. I only realised at 10 that night, when I was far away from London. My husband, an ex policeman, told me it would most likely be gone. But when I called on the morning someone had found it and left it at reception for me. Unbelievable relief!
Not everyone is on the make.

3. Finally, in my other life as a marketing strategist I often receive trends information and presentations. Yesterday we had an update on trends that have been added and trends that have been removed from a trend set called Mintel Inspire. It draws on data from around the world and reports from analysts on the ground. One trend has been removed- Me,me,me. It’s a trend that emerged in the early days of recession as people retrenched their finances. It resulted in charitable giving declining and more selfish attitudes emerging. This trend has been removed from their set. Cash donations are up in the UK, as are direct debit. It seems we have decided not to be Scrooges any more.

There is a lot of evil and selfishness in the world.It’s easy to focus on it because we have evolved to watch out for bad news, it’s a good survival technique. But it’s important to remember that there is a lot of low grade good on the world too. What I mean is, day to day life runs on in small ways in many places with people not killing, not scheming, not destroying their own small worlds but making them function and be present, by letting people out at junctions and making a cup of tea for their co-workers.

“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”

Philippians 4:8

Leave a Reply

