Kicking Paralympics Promo


I know that a lot of my readers are from outside the UK and so I thought it would be ok to slightly bore the UK readers (but not really!) with this amazing promo that Channel 4 has done for the Paralympics. I am going to 4 events. More than 2.1 of the 2.5million tickets available have already been sold.

This already outstrips the Beijing Games, which reached 1.8 million. 1.2 million tickets were sold at the Sydney Games in 2000, and just 850,000 were sold in 2004, at the Athens games. I think this something we can be proud of. And how appropriate given the games were started here in the town where I gave birth to my daughter as it happens, Stoke Mandeville.

There is so much I could write about the importance of these playful contests – about how serious play, competition is essential to the human spirit, about the power of sport to lift us up spiritually. I probably will in the coming days!  But for now just check out this clip. These athletes are an inspiration and I think this is going to be the best paralympics yet. Make a point of tuning in and celebrating the superhumans. Once you’ve seen this trailer I’d be surprised if you didn’t!

Leave a Reply

