Friends


Jesus, on the cross, is mocked in Calvary as t...

Jesus, on the cross, is mocked in Calvary as the King of the Jews, Luke 23:36-37 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have just spent a very pleasant evening with some friends discussing books, work, our children and giving birth – no, it really was a pleasant evening… I really appreciate times like this evening when time goes so fast and I really appreciate the support that we give each other. I feel very blessed in all my very different friends and the different ways we have to be together and some very old friends read this blog.

The luck I have in my friends has brought into focus one of the aspects of the crucifixion of Jesus, the fact that all his friends, without exception, desert him. When I am unsure or unconfident it’s my friends I turn to, when I am sad they are there to support me, when I’m lonely I can reach out and someone will respond, but in the very darkest hours of his life, when Jesus must have been 98% aware of what was coming none of his friends are there.  I’m not sure that this emotional suffering is something I have fully appreciated, if you really think about what  it would feel like to have all your friends desert you I think you will appreciate it too.

Leave a Reply

