Holding on to stuff


I was just watching my daughter trying to pull herself up onto the sofa whilst still maintaining a hold on the very attractive stacking cup she had just picked up (it is after all made of finest plastic!). Unsurprisingly it was quite tricky for her. In the end she gave me the cup and then pulled herself up.

Quite a good metaphor for the spiritual life I think. You don’t get far if you are determined to hold onto ‘stuff’, you don’t develop. You have to learn to let go of things to move on.

All of which sounds a lot easier and more trite than it actually is! And if you will excuse me I now have to encourage her to let go of the lead to my computer.

Leave a Reply

