Chewing a rabbit


I went in to comfort my daughter tonight and she was desperately chewing on her favourite rabbit whilst crying at the same time. It didn’t take much to comfort her just a hug and a lullaby. What she really wanted was not to chew on her rabbit it was to go to sleep, but she is still learning how feeling tired and sleep are connected.

But it reminded me of me. I’ve often tried to use something to satisfy me instead of something else eg biscuits or apples instead of chocolate. One thing I’ve learnt is that in the end you should just stop fighting it and eat the chocolate. You probably won’t even need to eat very much of it (particularly given the amount of apple/biscuit/toast you have just eaten).

And sometimes the same goes for God. We rush around looking for other things to fill our hearts with – with me it was food. (there’s a theme there). But Augustine said “”God, you have made us for yourself, and our hearts are restless till they find their rest in you”.

So if you really want chocolate I suggest you eat it. And if you really want God just give in. He won’t leave you alone anyway, though I admire you for trying.

Leave a Reply

