How do we know what God wants?


It’s all very well setting yourself the task  of blogging every day for Lent as part of the lenten disciplines, but what if you are writing drivel? Or rather, what if I am writing drivel? What if what I am writing is just the random thoughts that pass through my head and not really directed towards wherever God is taking me with this?

There are a few ways to discern what God wants in our lives and it takes practice to do it. The more you do it the more you note the small nudge, the right feeling, the insistent thought that won’t let you go.

I have just, finally, sent off for an application form to do some formal theological study. I read a lot of modern theology of my own volition, just because I am interested in the gaps in my knowledge or in different viewpoints. But it’s been something I’ve returned to again and again in my thoughts that I should do some study. Once I had received the forms I felt the sense of something clicking into place. Sometimes you have to just act on an instinct or thought.

But this is the most important pointer and it comes from the Jesuits and their spiritual exercises. If you feel like you are being driven to do something it’s likely not of God, if you feel like you are being drawn towards doing something then it’s likely of God. If you are honestly seeking God then this is a good way to move forwards.

And somehow this post has written itself. Again.

One response to “How do we know what God wants?

  1. That sounds like a great idea. I look forward to reading what you blog about your studies.

    Last year I did an OU module, and it was a lot harder than I thought it would be to combine it with full-time work – and I don’t have childcare to take care of as well. So I admire your industry. All the best with it.

Leave a Reply

