Are the Foo Fighters Christian?


foos.jpgThere are an awful lot of people coming to my blog because they appear to want to know if the Foo Fighters are Christian or not. As far as I know, they aren’t.

So what now? Will you not listen to their music because they don’t share our faith? Do you believe that God is not able to be present in you and your passion in a place where people aren’t openly declaring him? Do you fear what will happen if you listen to and find yourself enjoying something that isn’t “Christian”?

Here is a thought:-

To be a Christian you have to be in the world but not of the world, you have to be the leaven – you can’t do that if you only listen to Christian music, read Christian books and associate with Christian people. If you do that you are putting your light under a bushel and you are missing out on an opportunity to learn and to experience real joy and inspiration. Jesus went to parties (Cana) where he provided close on 1440 pints of the best wine for people to continue partying with. You are also missing an opportunity to discover what you truly believe and therefore when you get directly challenged – by the frequent awfulness of your own life, by a friend whose partner has died, by someone who has been abused by Christians just as a for instance – how are you going to maintain any sense of reality?

If listening to Foo Fighters makes you feel like you have compromised your relationship with God then by all means stop but not without examining why that is so. Not listening to them because someone (parents, friends, rector) told you you should only listen to “Christian” music or because you feel you should only listen to “Christian” music in order to prove your Christianity expresses an attitude to the world that leads to Phariseism and I strongly advise you to change your mind.

Blind faith is no faith. Foo Fighters are an amazing band.

35 responses to “Are the Foo Fighters Christian?

  1. Very well said. It is so important to not JUST surround yourself with what is labeled “Christian”. In reality, music, books, art, whatever, cannot be “Christian”. It is all made by humans who sin. And yes, the Foo Fighters rock.

  2. Thanks for all the comments. Incidentally there is an interesting book I am intending to read which is all about how spirituality and gen x-ers. Ok that tells you how old I am! But it does address exactly what I am getting at here and have written about elsewhere in relation to having experiences of God’s love at concerts (in fact listening to the Foos but that’s not the only time)

    Well, here it’s called Virtual Faith: The Irreverent Spiritual Quest of Generation X by Tom Beaudoin and you can get it from amazon. I haven’t read it but it’s on my list.

  3. Amen!

    Let us pray our pride in ourselves and in our “level of Christianity” be burned away through the Holy Spirit.

    “What if I do Lord? What if I don’t? I’d have to lose everything just to find you…”
    -Dave, 2006

  4. Well put, but some of Dave Grohl’s songs actually sound christian such as Let it Die (If you think about Adam and Eve) Come alive (Possibly Jesus coming alive “You saved me the day, you came alive”)
    Erase replace (Possibly erasing he’s worldly self and replacing with a spiritual self)
    Pretended (“What if I say i’m not like the others” possibly what if he says he isn’t like alot of the other people that live that are worldly)

    Though he swears alot doesn’t mean he isn’t Christian… Christians can swear too.

    These are just my personal thoughts though and i’m thinking a bit outside of the box.

  5. I agree Christians cannot isolate themselves from the outside world. But if anyone has been thinking like I have, it’s more of a personal issue ( and I know it shouldn’t be). When I hear bands that have a sole purpose of taking faith away from others I get pissed off. Ever listen to Modest Mouse’s lyrics? They are great musicians, but it’s like their spitting in our faces. I know I should brush it off. But then I think about how people don’t pay attention to lyrics and the words get into their head. I know it shouldn’t be such a big deal but music can be a very powerful thing.

  6. Hi Calvin,
    I agree with you. It can be painful listening to some of the dislike (verging on hatred) that musicians put into their music about religion. It’s the same with books (cf Dawkins). The best way to counter it is being out there in the world. It’s a more effective way of influencing the cultural landscape than creating music that talks about God in a vocabulary that someone who isn’t Christian can understand. I often forget that knowledge and experiences I take for granted regarding how people relate to God and how I relate to God are just unknown to the average punter.

    People will always be antagonistic towards us, they always have been. But it’s strangely comforting to know that others too feel pained by openly anti-Christian lyrics. It reminds me why I write this blog and why we need to be out in the world – however unsuccesfully!

  7. i am a christian and listening to music in all forms does not change my faith. mostlly it just gives me more to think about, it kinda makes me a better person to have “seen” through the lives of my musical heros and heroines.
    as to the foo fighters; if they are…sweet. if they’re not….sweet. music is the life experiences of the lyracists who write it, not just words set to a catchy tune; even if it has no words. (that actually makes sense if you think about it)
    in the same way i would not trade my friends for strangers if i were told they dont believe in my God i would still love and learn from them
    Foo fighters rock..fan 4ever

  8. all of you guys are terrific, gives me a lot to think about. Personally, I listen to christian rock, and some of the points you guys had against it are true. However, I think it helps me become better as a person, since like adam said, it is all made by humans who sin, aka, people like myself, and by listening to their life experiences, like Hayley said, it sometimes gives me guidance I can apply to my own life, whether it’s in the form of people who came out of similar adversity, open corrective points I need to think about, or just let me know it’s ok to have problems in your relationship with god. I don’t at all think my opinion is necessarily the correct one. And yes, I do think foo fighters are christian rock. perhaps not openly, but in their lyrics, so they can influence others. Agree with tommy in his interpretations, you could also say best of you is talking about some of his own experiences with god “everyone’s got their chains to break holdin you” “My heart is giving me life or death, but I can’t choose” and some songs are a bit more obvious, namely “Learn to fly”

  9. I have to say that alot of what it means to be a really good person isn’t always put under the category of ‘christian’. I think the foo fighters write really good passionate music.

  10. I don’t know this band, but the Bible has some thoughts…
    “Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? ” 2 Corinthians 6:14
    Verse 17 he says “..come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you.” They were dancing and worshipping false Gods with unbelievers.

    We can socialize with, work with and talk to people of the world. But we need to be a “seperate people” Many times, when God told his people to conquer a land, He told them not to save anything from that culture (no traces, no people or animal.) In Ezra 10, the Israelites took wives that weren’t of their belief. Ezra said “separate yourselves from the people of the land, and from the strange wives.”

    “Think on these things” (Philippians 4:8 ) We should keep our mind on God. He’ll lead us to others and open the door to help them and bring them to Him. We don’t have to be like them.
    So we should not be discouraged when we do not take part in the worlds degrading parties and drunken atmosphere.
    Luke 6
    “22 Blessed are ye, when men shall hate you, and when they shall separate you from their company, and shall reproach you, and cast out your name as evil, for the Son of man’s sake. 23 Rejoice ye in that day, and leap for joy: for, behold, your reward is great in heaven: for in the like manner did their fathers unto the prophets.”

    The answer is simple. What desires does it bring out in you? Does listening to this music make you want to party and drink and dance (unto the world and not the Lord) ? Then for you it’s a stumbling block and you shouldn’t. Is Pop Music depress to you? Then for you it’s best not to listen to it. If you feel conviction, or tugging on your heart about something, you shouldn’t do those things because you have to live with that and for you it’s a sin.

  11. I had been a Christian for a long time. In the past year I’ve turned my back on that organized religion (for many reasons), but I find myself still trying to seek God/truth/answers.

    Or maybe it is He who is seeking me…

    I’ve been a huge fan of the Foo Fighters since they became a band. Absolutely one of my favorite bands.

    I had been listening to the Foo Fighters more frequently the past few days. I cycle through various band cd’s every few weeks and I hadn’t listened to the FF in a while.

    Well, tonight I found myself listening to “Come Alive” and I had always thought that it was an awesome song…but without fully hearing the lyrics. Tonight I heard the lyrics in away I never heard them before. It led me to put these 3 words into google: “Foo Fighters Christian” and website was the first thing returned on the search list. And here I am.

    I am not one to post comments on websites, but I had to use this opportunity to share this. (It’s midnight and I was getting ready to go to bed, so you must know that I feel it’s important if I’m missing precious sleep! :) )

    So, what does this mean? Well, it doesn’t mean the Foo Fighters are “Christian”, but it does mean that their lyrics led me to feeling closer to God than I have in a really long time.

    Evidence. The brave Fighters of Foo may not be a “Christian” band… But that doesn’t make them evil.

    When God wants to, He will speak to you –through whichever way He so chooses. And it appears He is smart enough (duh people) to choose the ways in which He knows we will listen best. And this may not be through the ways that our society deems as “Christian”.

    Just my opinion based on my experiences.

    Thanks for reading.
    ^_^

  12. Thankyou Nathan!
    I didn’t agree with what the dude up the top said one bit: what’s wrong with just listening to christian music and reading christian books? You don’t have to associate with people of the world to talk with them and that. (Don’t get me wrong i don’t hold any judgments against Lectio though) Nothing; if anything it should build your spirit up so you can deal with people in the world.
    Sure I may listen to Foo Fighters but that doesn’t necessarily mean I can listen to them none stop. Sometimes they depress me and I start to feel sorry for myself. When it gets to a stage like that, I need to turn it off.

    By the way Nathan, would you happen to be Nathan Cook from church? The way you wrote all of that sounds identical to what he’d write; wrote like a true preacher of the word!

  13. good thoughts. but i already worked those out in my mind 10 years ago, and i’m just trying to get some background on ‘in your honor’…like the motivation behind the lyrics. thx for the reminders though.

  14. Pingback: As a Christian what should I read? « Spirituality of Play·

  15. Lots of wishful thinking going on out there that lead to very likely misinterpretations of their lyrics. Sure, you could try to apply Come Alive, Let It Die, Learn To Fly, Come Back, etc to a Christian perspective, but I strongly doubt that was Dave’s intent (though What If I Do does raise some interesting questions).

    I suspect rather that Come Alive is about the birth of a child, Let It Die was about divorce, and Learn To Fly is as much directed to Jesus as Audioslave’s Like A Stone and Show Me How To Live (which is to say, not really). It’s probably more Deist than anything.

    BUT… how can you get to Jesus without believing that a transcendent Father God exists.

  16. Bob Young – what makes you certain that Dave Grohl is not a Christian or that this is “wishful thinking”? If you’ve ever watched Foo Fighters play live, or seen one of their concert videos, you’ll see that the man often wears a cross necklace, for literally hundreds of thousands to see.

    Grohl has said in interviews that he rarely shares the inspiration behind his songs because he wants the listener to have the freedom to interpret the lyrics on his own. Given this philosophy at the center of his writing, none of us is really in the position to decree misinterpretation. And is such freedom anti-Christian? Hardly.

    I am a former agnostic who has come to Christianity within the last five years, and I happened to latch onto the Foos in the midst of a lot of personal turmoil. There were days where Grohl’s lyrics moved me to tears when his words seemed to echo my personal struggle to accept and then be truly led by Christ. (Like Tomy, there were other days when Grohl’s angst led me closer to depression than to God, and in such moments, more obvious Christian music was a better inspiration for me.)

    Personally, I cannot imagine how anyone with the knowledge of Christ can hear the lyrics of songs such as “In Your Honor” or “Come Alive” and NOT feel that He is at the very core of it!!!

    But in the end, does it really matter whether spreading the Word was Grohl’s intent? Doing so was certainly God’s plan! Per Anon Oct. 8, God is quite adept at using presumably “secular” means to convey His message.

  17. “Has someone taken your faith?
    it’s real
    the pain you feel
    the life
    the love
    you died to heal
    the hope
    that starts
    the broken heart
    the trust
    you must
    confess”

    Personally, I’d say he’s on the edges of Christianity, possibly having had a relationship with God and not being able to continue it. Or he has one, still struggles with it at times, but he knows his friends who he writes for (being in a band) and tries to write humbly.

    But when I talk about being on the “edge”, I’m not talking about some cultural graph, how much time he spends in x meetings or with this group of friends or that, or all that rubbish. In that sense every christian should be on the edge, sent like Jesus into wherever the “sinners” go, loving people, eating with them, having a laugh, sharing Gods peace and life. That’s an awesome way to be on the edge.

    No when I said about being on the edge, I’m talking about being divided, where you have things you want to do that don’t match up to God or things he wants you to do that your running from. Not being undecided and like weak milky tea, but in the throes of counting the cost. I respect anyone who’s willing to go through that, to choose to live passionately even though your not sure where your headed, and not letting go of the best, even if your not wholly holding yourself to it.

    There’s better than that, but it’s a good start.

  18. Ey bro i jst wna say in the Bible it says tht what u sew u will reap so if u keep lisnin to songs with swearing and all eventually u are goin to go back to ur old life b4 u openly declared Jesus as ur Saviour. And honeslty Christian music is better than Foo Fighters jst listen to Jesus Freak by D.C talk its awesom!!

  19. Not sure that’s right, compacting why I think that: Reaping/sowing in paul’s stuff relates to moral consequences of our actions, payback basically, good or bad. But it doesn’t refer to music at all, he distinguishes working in line with God vs not, and being more generous and wholehearted in doing that.

    Swearing’s not some magic thing that stops you living God’s way. The real thing is the choices you make, your attitude to the world. Music might be a part of that, depending on your attitude to it, but you can choose to listen to all kinds of things and still be keeping in tune with God. Understand how to do that and you skip a lot of box ticking, (or even tick-boxing!).

  20. you stated: “So what now? Will you not listen to their music because they don’t share our faith? Do you believe that God is not able to be present in you and your passion in a place where people aren’t openly declaring him? Do you fear what will happen if you listen to and find yourself enjoying something that isn’t “Christian”?”

    Perhaps you are jumping to conclusions a little too briskly. Let me just say that my intention in my response to you is in no way driven to create hostility between us. However, I disagree with a few of your presumptions. “will you not listen to their music because they don’t share your faith?” All because a Christian is asking if a music artist is Christian doesn’t necessarily mean that we are hostile towards secular music. The average Christian would be curious about Foo Fighters because of their spiritual intent in their lyrics. Primarily (Fly away). Now I do admit, Christians are bias of their music choice. But why? The bible says “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Colossians 3:2-4″ The reason behind the bias is because the majority of secular artists live lifestyles contrary to the scripture previously stated and their lyrical content isn’t enjoyable to hear.

    So will we not listen to their music because they don’t share our faith? … of we will not listen to it. When we set our minds on the things that breaks God’s heart, it defiles us and hinders us from living a life of righteousness.

    In response to your question: “Do you believe that God is not able to be present in you and your passion in a place where people aren’t openly declaring him?” well… no. Let me unpack that a little bit. I’m not entirely sure of the focus of this question. If your question is implying that God is able to be present in you and your passion if you are not a Christian then no. God cannot be present where he is not wanted. If you are not saved, you do not have the Holy Spirit that lives inside of you therefore God is not present. If you are implying that the artist is Christian but they do not openly declare that they are, … the answer would still be no. This is why: A true follower of Christ will declare who God is. We cannot help but declare who He is and what he has done in our lives. God cannot present if you are hiding your allegiance to Christ in an environment that does not openly declare God.

    You also stated: “To be a Christian you have to be in the world but not of the world, you have to be the leaven – you can’t do that if you only listen to Christian music, read Christian books and associate with Christian people.”

    The bible says “Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:2

    Who says we can’t be transparent to the world without exposing ourselves to its filth. We are called to be the example not a follower. Yes we have the liberty to listen to music or expose ourselves to something that is secular. But lets ask ourselves a question first… Does it glorify God? Will it build us up spiritually or will it defile us?

    I will close with this scripture: “I have the right to do anything,” you say—but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything”—but not everything is constructive. No one should seek their own good, but the good of others.” 1 Corinthians 10:23-24

  21. I went to a Foo Fighters concert, and when Dave Grohl, made everybody say Amen, I felt like I was in church.

  22. The important thing to remember here is LOVE to all and in EVERY situation. Not labeling themselves a “christian” band will possibly help them reach more hearts with their message. There are too many misconceptions surrounding the word “christian”. BUT and ALSO there is a real need for bands who SHATTER these misconceptions by being HONEST. Christian metal does this very well. They are not one bit ashamed to call themselves christian or a christian band, but by being themselves and making the music that they love and not what is necessarily “acceptable” on a Sunday morning church service, they give a new meaning [to some] (which is truly just the original, VERY old meaning which has been screwed up by society’s ignorance) to the word Christian. But all in all, I don’t care WHAT people do or how they’re doing it, if they’re doing it with love in their heart for Christ and AGAPE love for everyone on earth, they’re doing it right. There’s no wrong way to praise God!

  23. M a big fan of da Foo Fighters but I saw them wearing a cross inverted(upside down).How’s that possible if they are christians?

  24. A few people here mentioned sins. Our biggest sins are, yes, blind faith, exploiting the planet for monetary gain (depleting species and non-renewable resources), exploiting workers and believers, having the arrogance to believe we are superior to animals and, thus, can use, damage, pollute, and destroy the planet and its living things … because God ordains this. Not true. It is a myth woven into our Western culture, one that millions are questioning as the planet gives us its own lessons and laws: extreme weather, wildfires, tsunamis, … If God is the Universe, and that includes Earth, what are We doing to God, to ourselves? Believers can question authority, many who are self-ordained self-righteous and one percent telling us how to live, with force behind them. Think, question, read, … use our intelligence, not blind faith, group think, or sheepishly following … the real world is primary, real — we are here now.

  25. Watched and listened to a little from Reading…lot of bad language…necessary im sure its not…check out father stan fortuna…everybody gotta suffer…on you tube…Cool stuff great man…Walks the talk…

  26. Good Blog and thanks for the post about the Foo Fighters
    I totally Love the Foos,
    I run with learning to fly (live yeeeah!) playing loud and I choose to make it worship music, it sounds like its all about a God relationship, and when i listen I’m feeling grateful and connected with our almighty.So what, if it isnt written by professed christians- I hear The hand of God in it(the drumsticks of God maybe).All good things belong to the Lord, and the foo fighters and their Lyrics are good.
    I think their songs are thought provoking about things greater than ourselves, and if that gets folks pondering on a relationship with God, then thats got to be good.
    PS Dave Grohl often wears a big cross on a chain around his neck…might mean nothing…but i’m leaning towards believer.

  27. Parents who are authoritarian also believe that their word is law
    and do not tolerate disagreement. Hence, it is not surprising
    that they succumb to a lot of stress. Dr Phil in his effective parenting survey
    of 17,000 people found that the two top challenges facing parents were making punishment work and improving school performance.

Leave a Reply

